top of page
Post: Blog2_Post
FreeCast Channel and BHN.jpg
BHN on GFN.jpg

Watch an NABJ 2022 Awards overview with special recap of the 2020 and 2021 NABJ awardees


In this Black Headline News live special report, news producer, Julia Dudley Najieb, reviews the recent 2022 National Association of Black Journalist and National Association of Hispanic Journalist Awards that occurred in Las Vegas, NV this past August. Watch review of the 2022 awardees and inductees.

Julia also reviewed the 2020 and 2021 awardees who were overshadowed by the COVID-19 pandemic that shut down most of America.

Also, watch powerful acceptance speech by Black News Link, 2022 NABJ Hall of Fame Inductee Cheryl Smith, who reminds people of the importance of the Black press and its role today.

Here are the past 2020 and 2021 NABJ Hall of Fame Inductees and Special Honorees:

2021 Hall of Fame Inductees

  • A.J. Smitherman, Tulsa Star (posthumously)

  • Claire Smith, Temple University/MLB Writer

  • Cornelius “Neil” Foote Jr., Foote Communications, LLC/ University of North Texas

  • Kirk McKoy, Kirk McKoy Photography, Formerly L.A. Times Monica Roberts, TransGriot (posthumously)

  • Monica Roberts, TransGriot (posthumously)

  • Rochelle Riley, City of Detroit/Author

  • Rodney A. Brooks, U.S. News & World Report/Author

  • Roland S. Martin, #RolandMartinUnfiltered/Black Star Network

2021 Special Honors:

  • Journalist of the Year: Libor Jany (Star Tribune) Michael J. Feeney Emerging Journalist of the Year: Malika Andrews (ESPN)

  • Chuck Stone Lifetime Achievement : Art Norman (NBC Chicago)

  • Journalist of Distinction: Jenise Griffin (Florida Courier/Daytona Times)

  • Legacy Award: Janis Ware (The Atlanta Voice)

  • Ida B. Wells Award: Sonceria Messiah Jiles (Houston Defender)

  • Percy Qoboza Foreign Journalist of the Year: Anas Aremeyaw Anas (Insight TWI)

  • Journalism Educator of the Year: Dr. Sherri Williams (American University)

  • Patricia L. Tobin Media Professional Award: Aprill O. Turner (Higher Heights for America)

  • • Angelo B. Henderson Community Service: Tenisha Taylor (Ezekiel Taylor Scholarship Foundation)

  • • Student Journalist of the Year: Giulia Heyward (Hussman School of Journalism and Media)

  • • Best Practices: The Dallas Morning News – Grant Moise Professional Chapter of the Year Award: Memphis Association of Black Journalists

  • • Student Chapter of the Year Award: Howard University Association of Black Journalists

2020 Hall of Fame Inductees

  • Fred Sweets, Photographer and Editor

  • Pam Johnson, Former Director, School of Journalism, Western Kentucky University

  • Pam Oliver, Senior Correspondent and FOX NFL Reporter

  • Mary Mitchell, Columnist, Chicago Sun-Times

  • John McCaa, Anchor, WFAATV 8

  • Cathy Hughes, Urban One, Inc.

  • Clarice Tinsley, KDFW-TV FOX 4 News

2020 Special Honors

  • Journalist of the Year: Yamiche Alcindor

  • Michael J. Feeney Emerging Journalist of the Year: Rachel V. Scott

  • Legacy Award: Rehema Ellis

  • Chuck Stone Lifetime Achievement Award: Kevin Merida

  • Journalist of Distinction Award: Elaine Houston

  • Ida B. Wells Award: Kimberly Godwin

  • Journalism Educators of the Year: Susan Mango Curtis and James McJunkins Sr.

  • Angelo B. Henderson Community Service Award: Chelle Luper Wilson

  • Patricia L. Tobin Media Pro-fessional Award: Ramona Logan

  • Student Journalist of the Year: Arthur Cribbs

  • Best Practices Award: The Trace

  • Percy Qoboza Foreign Journalist Award: Mahmoud Hussein

  • Student Chapter of the Year: Michigan State University Association of Black Journalists

  • Professional Chapter of the Year: National Association of Black Journalists – Los Angeles


bottom of page